The history of the Chateau and the Golf de La Cordelière

HISTORY OF THE CHATEAU DE LA CORDELIERE

 

    The area of “la Maison Rouge” also called “Vendue aux Cordeliers” evokes a portion of forest belonging to the Franciscan community commonly called Cordeliers, hence the name of La Cordelière.

 

   In 1591, Guillaume Hennequin de Vaubercey and his second wife Catherine Mauroy, became the very first owners of this estate, which then went to their daughter, Catherine Hennequin and her husband, Sébastien de la Ruelle, gentleman of the great Falconry of the King.

 

    Nicolas Parent, born in Chaource on June 24, 1744, king's lawyer in Troyes, received him as an inheritance. In 1780, he had a castle built, which he baptized “la Cordelière”, the one currently known as “la petite Cordelière”, a typical 18th century castle.    

                                   

    Nicolas took the oath of the Jeu de Paume on June 20, 1789. He died guillotined under the Terror on February 4, 1794, under the fallacious pretext of conspiring against the freedom and safety of the French people (he was wrongly accused of having hidden from the royalists in the forest of Chaource.    

                                

    Her sister, Françoise, died as well as her daughter, in August 1802, in the collapse of the ceiling of the house that she and her husband had just built in the heart of Chaource: the current town hall of Chaource. In 1833, the latter's son, Frédéric Louis Micheau, became the new owner of La Cordelière. He was general councilor, Knight of Malta and appointed Count Micheau de Chassy by the Grand Duke of Tuscany.   

 

    In 1852, the estate returned to her daughter Aurélie-Louise who married Count Gabriel Chandon de Briailles, owner of the wines of Champagne Moët and Chandon. They had two sons: René born in 1853 and Frédéric in 1858.       .

 

    After the death of his parents (in 1868 and 1873), Frédéric stayed at la petite Cordelière, with his grandparents and became Viscount Chandon de Briailles.

 

    Very simple and very popular, he gave big parties at La Cordelière where the local population was invited. During the winter of 1891, to occupy the men deprived of work because of the harsh winter conditions, he had a magnificent ice castle built on a tiny island in the middle of a pond. Later, around 1895-1900, he had a two-storey chalet built, high and narrow, in the same place, a sort of miniature castle covered with thatch and surmounted by a turret. The castle was connected to the shore by a footbridge. The chalet is still visible on the pond located on the other side of the departmental road along the golf course.

 

    In memory of his mother Louise Micheau, Frédéric Chandon de Briailles endowed the church of Chaource with an altar dedicated to Saint François de Sales, erected in the chapel on the right side where their family bench is located.  

    After his marriage to Odette de Fontenay (from the Château de Vaux), he had a vast and magnificent Renaissance-style château built in 1892, opposite the Petite Cordelière, surrounded by a park with a formal garden. It is the current Club-house.

 

CHATEAU SAUGER CPM_1.jpg

After his marriage to Odette de Fontenay (from the Château de Vaux), he had a vast and magnificent Renaissance-style château built in 1892, opposite the Petite Cordelière, surrounded by a park with a formal garden. It is the current Club-house.

 

  Four statues of nymphs placed in the center of flower beds, embellished the space between the two residences. Today, this space is the putting green.

    

    In November 1900, the inauguration of the castle gave rise to great celebrations to which the population of Chaource was invited. These celebrations ended with a marvelous fireworks display representing, as a final bouquet, the crown of the viscount.

 

    Frédéric succeeded as mayor to Baron de Damoiseau of the Chaource Band in 1896, a position he kept until his death in 1918 after an interruption from 1904 to 1908 due to a dispute over the secular school. 

Mobilized in 1914, as Artillery Captain, Knight of the Legion of Honor, he inherited the title of Count from his brother René, who died in 1917. Frédéric died on June 25, 1918 as a result of the war.

 

     The Count had 4 children: François (1892-1953), Henri (1898-1937), Hervé (1900-1954) and Jehanne (1902-1947)

 

    The castle was inhabited by the eldest, Count François. He married in 1917 Louise Archdeacon of the castle of Chevrey in Yonne, daughter of a deputy from Paris, but, shortly after, their marriage was annulled.

 

    François Chandon de Briailles was mayor of Chaource from 1922 until his death in 1953, district councilor before 1940, general councilor from 1947 to 1953. The Count devoted a great deal of time to heraldry, literature, numismatics and archeology. Every year in March, he left to excavate in Syria.

 

   This cultivated and popular man, like his father, was arrested in 1944 and deported for 11 months to Germany at the Neuengamme camp. Do the real reasons for his deportation relate to his affiliation to a Resistance network or to his situation as a squire and a public figure?  He did not return to La Cordelière until August 1945, his health deteriorated. During his absence, the castle had been occupied by a German general staff who had taken advantage of their stay to empty the cellars full of Moët and Chandon champagne!

 

    Count François died in February 1953, without descendants. The Chaourçois keep of this original and affable man, a grateful memory for all that he brought to the city and to the population. We remember in particular, that on Good Friday, he allowed young people wanted by the Germans to hide in the steeple of the church, that he saved the life of a photographer, that he obtained forged papers. to the young people appointed for the STO, that he lodged wounded resistance fighters in the basements of the castle.

 

    Honorary President of the Union Sportive Chaourçoise, François Chandon had made his pond available to the club for  the practice of swimming. In fine weather, every evening at five o'clock, young people from Chaource and the surrounding area went to the Cordelière pond, to learn to swim, under the supervision of the instructor Henri Robert. On summer Sundays, the pond became a very popular place to walk. Every year, it was the setting for a great nautical festival, swimming competitions, nautical jousting, flower-filled perishable competitions.

 

    François Chandon de Briailles was buried, alongside members of his family, in the chapel of the property he had built. It is a Gothic-style chapel whose windows are copied from those of the Chaource church and the spire from that of the hospice.

 

    The castle returned by will to Count Hervé who died a year later. In this will, some of the staff received almost as much as some of the count's nieces.

 

    In 1954 therefore, it was Frédéric, son of Hervé, and last of the name, who inherited the property. He then owned the famous Moët et Chandon champagne house in Epernay.  As he lived in the castle of Louvois in the Marne, he hardly ever returned to La Cordelière. In May 1957, he organized a large auction. In five days, the important furniture, engravings, porcelain, earthenware, weapons, armor, bronzes, crystal chandeliers were dispersed. The 2000 valuable volumes that made up the Comte François library were also auctioned off and were bitterly disputed between local amateurs and Parisian booksellers for a sum of 500,000F!  

A CHATEAU COMBINING TRADITION AND MODERNITY

 

Architecture:

 

   The Louis XII-style castle, an amalgamation of Gothic and Renaissance, is a building of great and rich appearance in which nothing is left to chance.  

 

   The foundations of the facades, the chains and the frames of the bays in the basement are made of Pierre-Chêvre rock with rustic blue rubble fillings, a kind of hard limestone peculiar to the region. The steps and balconies are in fine Chamesson stone with steps and shelves in Comblanchien rock. At their upper part, the facades are in Savonnières stone with filling in red Perchois bricks. The balustrades of the steps and balconies, the loggia of the large living room and the dormers of the crown in terracotta, stone tone, constitute an interesting application, both from the point of view of the decorative effect and the sharpness of the edges.

 

    Through a double staircase on the east facade, you enter the great hall, adorned with hunting trophies and lit by the large stained-glass window (work of the Parisian glassmaker Tamoni). This hall separates the ground floor into two parts: On the right, the reception rooms: dining rooms (Petite Cordelière side), upholstered in Cordoba leather (currently the clubhouse relaxation lounges) and the lounges overlooking the park (currently the Clubhouse bar and restaurant).  

 

 

   On the left: the living rooms, apartments of the Mother Countess and her husband, each containing a study and a toilet room. You reach the 1st floor by the main staircase. This floor is divided into twelve guest rooms with wardrobe, bathroom and WC. Hervé and Jehanne's apartments are located in the right wing. The children's bedrooms, the bedroom of Count François in the left wing.   

 

   On the 2nd floor, five guest antechambers and a study room occupy the southern part while the laundry, the servants' rooms and the attic occupy the opposite part.

 

Modernity:

 

    But what makes this castle so special are the elements of modern comfort with which it was provided from the time of construction (1892). We owe this particularity to the architect, Mr. Sauger. Chief architect of the city of Paris and therefore initiated into the needs of modern urban housing, he strove to meet the same conditions of comfort in a large country house.

 

    Above the cellars dug in the rock, the castle includes a basement, buried by a few steps but whose ceiling is 3 meters above the ground. Also, this floor is widely lit so as to give full satisfaction to the services fitted there: the large kitchen, the pantry, the crockery (place where game is stored), the mulberry tree, the hunting room and weapons, the bathroom and the room of physical culture, the workshop and the laboratory of photography, the dining room of the staff, the coal-fired boilers.

 

    There are also petroleum engines for supplying water tanks. This makes it possible to have hot water on the floors, all the rooms being equipped with toilets and toilets. Two service stairs (one at each end) and a freight elevator put the basement in communication with the upper floors.

 

    All floors are equipped with a fire department and a drinking water service which operates using a hydraulic ram. A main sewer was installed thanks to a sewer belt receiving wastewater of all kinds, transporting it to settling chambers before being lost in the surrounding woods.

 

    To protect the many orange trees that surrounded the castle from the cold, an “orangery” was erected, a long building with large bay windows. The orange trees, but also all the other fragile plants, laurels, roses, palm trees or lemon trees spent the winter there. Their movement was done on rails that were installed for the occasion, in wagons pushed by 8 men.

 

And now ......

   

This Renaissance-style castle, inaugurated in 1900, was during the first half of the 20th century, a high place of Chaourçoise life where the Chandons let champagne flow ... Moët et Chandon.

   

   At the beginning of 1957, Count Frédéric CHANDON DE BRIAILLES, owner of the premises, agreed to lease the estate to the newly created Association Sportive et d'Etudes Agricoles de la Cordelière which gradually transformed the park into a golf course, recognized today hui as one of the most beautiful in France. The property is sold to a Belgian industrialist before the members of the association, through its Section Immobilière created in October 1963, buy back the property.

 

  The castle now, on the ground floor, has a secretariat, a games and television room, a bar, a lounge, a restaurant and above all the billiard room which crossed the 20th century without giving way to modernity. Its walls hung with pink satin and its heavy purple velvet hangings conjure up the image of an era of pomp and happiness. On the upper floors, at the Petite Cordelière and in the outbuildings, rooms have been fitted out to accommodate the players.

 

    Thus, of this prestigious estate, only the chapel where their ancestors rest has been preserved by the Chandon de Briailles heirs.

THE SOURCES :

"The Chandon de Briailles family and the Cordelière estate in Chaource" by Roger Barat (published in 1998)  - Article published in the Aube Nouvelle (summer 2000)

Summary prepared by Michel Colin, Annie-Claude Lauvergeat and Laetitia Mialet.

Some of the period photographic documents were kindly provided by Roger Barat. Modern photographic documents and other period photographic documents were kindly made available to us by Madame Béatrice Mialet and Monsieur Michel Colin.

CORDELIERE CHATEAU AILE D CPO M.jpg
CHATEAU CP SALON.jpg

 Birth of the Golf de Troyes - La Cordelière

 

Golf (Golf de Reims, Aube section) made its appearance in the Aube department in the years 1954 with the CAUZARD and BOULENGER families, following an initiation to golf practiced in LA BAULE.

   Very motivated, they decide to share this budding passion with some Trojan friends. They equip themselves, half bag for four and installation of a practice on the airfield of Barberey.

    The group of enthusiasts who are victims of the "golf" virus is growing and every weekend, a convoy of 8 to 10 cars takes the road to the golf course of Reims (in Gueux) to satisfy this passion; it will last 2 years.

    At the start of 1957 Mr. André MAROT discovered the Domaine de la Cordelière which Count Frédéric CHANDON DE BRIAILLES, owner of the premises, agreed to rent to the newly created Association Sportive et d'Etudes Agricoles de la Cordelière. The ground being found, and the realization of a golf course being decided (05/08/1957) it is necessary to collect the necessary budget from the founding members to then define the future course of the course; this task will be entrusted to a golf architect Mr. Tom SIMSON (who has never seen the course) and to the golf instructor of Fontainebleau, Mr. Joseph HIRIGOYEN, who has solid notions of architecture.

   It is with an indisputable talent that he will realize the route that we know today. The construction of the first 9 holes will start in August 1957 under the energetic direction of Doctor Pierre TORRE, well assisted by a group of volunteer pioneers.

    At the end of 1957, a teacher was hired, Mr. Pierre DELAVILLE from Nancy, the restaurant was organized, the field staff was definitely hired, the equipment was borrowed or rented from neighboring clubs. Everything is operational and in the spring of 1958 the first sports calendar is printed, consisting of about fifteen competitions, the first being the Archibald Cup which took place on April 20, 1958 (provisional and very imperfect greens, especially in rainy weather, very difficult rughs ... AG 12/1958)

    The Golf de Troyes - La Cordelière was born bringing together around 130 members (founders, active members and honorary members).

    The first Board of Directors which will work for the creation of a large golf course is made up of twelve members, appointed at the association's first general assembly, held on November 5, 1957, with:

President: Pierre TORRE
Vice-Presidents
  : Maurice BELLOT & André MAROT
Secretary: Madame GUIET, with Mr. BLOUET as deputy
Treasurer: Pierre JONQUET, with Mr. Jean LEMOINE as deputy

Field director: M. MAHEE

Club House Director: Mr. Jacques RENAUDINEAU, with Mr. Michel LEMELAND as deputy

Sporting director: Mr. Pierre BOULENGER, with Mr. Charles BOHEME as deputy

The balance sheet for the years 1957 and 1958 is 11,807,000 old francs for investments and 3,867,880 old francs for maintenance.

    In 1959, the course improved and was completed by the final greens, the tees, and bunkers. Time will pass, and following the work plan advised by Joseph HIRIGOYEN, after playing on 9 holes, we will play on 12 to finally arrive at 18 holes in 1967

    In January 1961, when Mr. DELAVILLE left, a new "pro" was hired, Mr. Maurice BOTCAZOU, his wife in charge of the proper functioning of the Club House (bar and restaurant).

   Today the Golf de Troyes - La Cordelière is one of the most beautiful courses in eastern France. The Presidents and the Boards of Directors of the Association, which have succeeded one another, have all made a large contribution to the development and improvement of the land, infrastructure and equipment, the estate being operated and managed on the long-term lease basis.
    
     After Pierre TORRE, the various Presidents of the Golf Association were: Claude JALABERT for 17 years, Michel DION for 20 years, Jean LAUVERGEAT, Albert FELIX-BOUY, Laurent GESP, Joël DARZAC, and currently Gilles ALLAIN.

    On 08/10/1963 the Real Estate Section of the Association Sportive et Agricole de la Cordelière (SIDASAC), Société Civile Immobilière, with a capital of 285,000, was formed with 57 shares distributed among 39 members, to acquire the domain on 11 / 10/1963, at the price of 250,000 frs. 

Mr. Paul BERNARDEAU was the first Chairman of the modern board of directors.

L'histoire du Chateau et du Golf de La Cordelière

HISTORIQUE DU CHATEAU DE LA CORDELIERE

 

     Le domaine de « la Maison Rouge » encore appelé la « Vendue aux Cordeliers » évoque une portion de forêt appartenant à la communauté des Franciscains appelé communément Cordeliers, d'où le nom de la Cordelière.

 

   En 1591, Guillaume Hennequin de Vaubercey et sa deuxième épouse Catherine Mauroy, devinrent les tous premiers propriétaires de ce domaine qui revint ensuite à leur fille, Catherine Hennequin et à son époux, Sébastien de la Ruelle, gentilhomme de la grande Fauconnerie du Roi.

 

     Nicolas Parent, né à Chaource le 24 juin 1744, avocat du roi à Troyes le reçut en héritage. En 1780, il fit construire un château qu'il baptisa « la Cordelière », celui que l'on nomme actuellement « la petite Cordelière », château typiquement XVIIIème.     

                                                                     

     Nicolas prêta le serment du Jeu de Paume le 20 juin 1789. Il mourut guillotiné sous la Terreur, le 4 février 1794, sous le fallacieux prétexte de conspiration contre la liberté et la sûreté du peuple français (on l'accusait à tort d'avoir caché des royalistes dans la forêt de Chaource.      

                                                              

     Sa soeur, Françoise, mourut ainsi que sa fille, en août 1802, dans l'éboulement du plafond de la maison qu'elle et son mari venaient de faire construire au coeur de Chaource : l'actuelle mairie de Chaource. En 1833, le fils de cette dernière, Frédéric Louis Micheau, devint le nouveau propriétaire de la Cordelière. Il fut conseiller général, Chevalier de Malte et nommé Comte Micheau de Chassy par le Grand Duc de Toscane.    

 

     En 1852, le domaine revint à sa fille Aurélie-Louise qui épousa le Comte Gabriel Chandon de Briailles, propriétaire des vins de Champagne Moët et Chandon. Ils eurent deux fils : René né en 1853 et Frédéric en 1858.          .

 

     Après la mort de ses parents (en 1868 et 1873), Frédéric demeura à la petite Cordelière, chez ses grands-parents et devint le Vicomte Chandon de Briailles.

 

     Très simple et très populaire, il donnait de grandes fêtes à la Cordelière où la population locale était invitée. Durant l'hiver 1891, pour occuper les hommes privés de travail à cause des rigueurs hivernales, il fit construire un magnifique château de glace sur une île minuscule au milieu d'un étang. Plus tard, vers 1895-1900, il fit édifier au même endroit, un chalet de 2 étages, haut et étroit, sorte de château miniature couvert de chaume et surmonté d'une tourelle. Le château était relié à la rive par une passerelle. Le chalet est encore visible sur l'étang situé de l'autre coté de la route départementale longeant le golf.

 

     En mémoire de sa mère Louise Micheau, Frédéric Chandon de Briailles dota l'église de Chaource d'un autel dédié à Saint François de Sales, érigé dans la chapelle du côté droit où se trouve leur banc de famille. 

     Après son mariage avec Odette de Fontenay (du château de Vaux), il fit édifier en 1892, face à la Petite Cordelière, un vaste et magnifique château de style Renaissance entouré d'un parc avec jardin à la française. C'est l'actuel Club-house.

 

CHATEAU SAUGER CPM_1.jpg

Après son mariage avec Odette de Fontenay (du château de Vaux), il fit édifier en 1892, face à la Petite Cordelière, un vaste et magnifique château de style Renaissance entouré d'un parc avec jardin à la française. C'est l'actuel Club-house.

 

  Quatre statues de nymphes placées au centre de massifs à fleurs, agrémentèrent l'espace entre les deux demeures. Aujourd'hui, cet espace est le putting green.

      

     En novembre 1900, l'inauguration du château donna lieu à de grandes fêtes où la population de Chaource fut conviée. Ces fêtes se terminèrent par un merveilleux feu d'artifice représentant, en bouquet final, la couronne du vicomte.

 

     Frédéric succéda à la mairie à Monsieur le Baron de Damoiseau de la Bande de Chaource en 1896, fonction qu'il garda jusqu'à sa mort en 1918 après une interruption de 1904 à 1908 due à un différend concernant l'école laïque. 

Mobilisé en 1914, comme Capitaine d'artillerie, Chevalier de la Légion d'Honneur, il hérita du titre de Comte de son frère René décédé en 1917. Frédéric mourut le 25 juin 1918 des suites de la guerre.

 

       Le Comte eut 4 enfants : François (1892-1953), Henri (1898-1937), Hervé (1900-1954) et Jehanne (1902-1947)

 

      Le château fut habité par l'aîné, le Comte François. Il épousa en 1917 Louise Archdeacon du château de Chevrey dans l'Yonne, fille d'un député de Paris, mais, peu de temps après, leur mariage fut annulé.

 

     François Chandon de Briailles fut maire de Chaource de 1922 jusqu'à sa mort, en 1953, conseiller d'arrondissement avant 1940, conseiller général de 1947 à 1953. Le Comte consacrait énormément de temps à l'héraldique, la littérature, la numismatique et l'archéologie. Tous les ans en mars, il partait faire des fouilles en Syrie.

 

    Cet homme cultivé et populaire à l'image de son père, fut arrêté en 1944 et déporté pour 11 mois en Allemagne au camp de Neuengamme. Les véritables raisons de sa déportation tiennent-elles à son affiliation à un réseau de Résistance ou à sa situation de châtelain et d'homme public ?  Il ne revint qu'en août 1945 à la Cordelière, sa santé bien altérée. Pendant son absence, le château avait été occupé par un état major allemand qui avait profité de son séjour pour vider les caves pleines de champagne Moët et Chandon !

 

     Le Comte François meurt en février 1953, sans descendance. Les Chaourçois conservent de cet homme original et affable, un souvenir reconnaissant pour tout ce qu'il apporta à la ville et à la population. On se souvient notamment, qu'un vendredi saint, il permit à des jeunes gens recherchés par les Allemands de se cacher dans le clocher de l'église, qu'il sauva la vie d'un photographe, qu'il procura de faux papiers aux jeunes désignés pour le STO, qu'il hébergea des résistants blessés dans les sous-sols du château.

 

     Président d'honneur de l'union Sportive Chaourçoise, François Chandon avait mis son étang à la disposition du club pour  la pratique de la natation. A la belle saison, tous les soirs à cinq heures, les jeunes de Chaource et des environs se rendaient à l'étang de la Cordelière, pour apprendre à nager, sous la direction du moniteur Henri Robert. Les dimanches d'été, l'étang devenait un lieu de promenade très fréquenté. Chaque année, il était le cadre d'une grande fête nautique, compétitions de natation, joutes nautiques, concours de périssoires fleuries

 

     François Chandon de Briailles fut enterré, auprès des membres de sa famille, dans la chapelle de la propriété qu'il avait fait construire. C'est une chapelle de style gothique dont les fenêtres sont copiées sur celles de l'église de Chaource et la flèche sur celle de l'hospice.

 

     Le château revint par testament au Comte Hervé qui décède un an plus tard. Dans ce testament, certains membres du personnel reçurent presque autant que certaines nièces du comte.

 

      En 1954 donc, c'est Frédéric, fils d'Hervé, et dernier du nom, qui hérita de la propriété. Il est alors propriétaire de la célèbre maison de champagne Moët et Chandon à Epernay.  Comme il habitait le château de Louvois dans la Marne, il ne revint pratiquement plus à la Cordelière. En mai 1957, il fit organiser une grande vente aux enchères. En cinq jours, l'important mobilier, gravures, porcelaines, faïences, armes, armures, bronzes, lustres en cristal furent dispersés. Les 2000 volumes de valeur qui constituaient la bibliothèque du Comte François furent livrés eux aussi aux enchères et furent âprement disputés entre les amateurs locaux et les bouquinistes parisiens pour une somme de 500 000F !  

UN CHATEAU ALLIANT TRADITION ET MODERNITE

 

Architecture :

 

    Le château de style Louis XII, amalgame de gothique et de Renaissance est un édifice de grande et riche allure dans lequel rien n'est laissé au hasard. 

 

    Les soubassements des façades, les chaînes et les encadrements des baies du sous-sol sont en roche de Pierre-Chêvre avec remplissages en moellons bleus rustiques, sorte de calcaire dur particulier à la région. Les perrons et les balcons sont en pierre fine de Chamesson avec marches et tablettes en roche de Comblanchien. A leur partie supérieure, les façades sont en pierre de Savonnières avec remplissage en briques rouges du Perchois. Les balustrades des perrons et des balcons, la loggia du grand salon et les lucarnes du couronnement en terre cuite, ton de pierre, constituent une application intéressante, tant au point de vue de l'effet décoratif que de la netteté des arêtes.

 

     Par un double perron sur la façade est, on pénètre dans le grand hall, orné de trophées de chasse et éclairé par le grand vitrail (œuvre du verrier parisien Tamoni). Ce hall sépare le rez-de-chaussée en deux parties : A droite, les pièces de réception : salles à manger (coté Petite Cordelière), tapissées de cuir de Cordoue (actuellement salons détente du club-house) et les salons donnant sur le parc (actuellement bar et salle de restaurant du Club-house). 

 

 

    A gauche : les pièces d'habitation, appartements de la Comtesse mère et de son époux renfermant chacun un cabinet de travail et une salle de toilette. On accède au 1er étage par l'escalier d'honneur. Cet étage est divisé en douze chambres d'amis avec penderie, cabinet de toilette et WC. Les appartements d'Hervé et de Jehanne se situent dans l'aile droite. Les chambres des enfants, la chambre du Comte François dans l'aile gauche.   

 

    Au 2ème étage, cinq antichambres d'amis et une salle d'étude occupent la partie méridionale tandis que la lingerie, les chambres de domestiques et le grenier occupent la partie opposée.

 

Modernité :

 

     Mais ce qui fait la particularité de ce château, ce sont les éléments de confort moderne dont il est doté dès la construction (1892). On doit cette particularité à l'architecte, Monsieur Sauger. Architecte en chef de la ville de Paris et par conséquent initié aux besoins de l'habitation urbaine moderne, il s'est efforcé de satisfaire aux mêmes conditions de confort dans une grande habitation de campagne.

 

      Au-dessus des caves creusées dans la roche, le château comprend un sous-sol, enterré de quelques marches mais dont le plafond est à 3 mètres au-dessus du sol. Aussi, cet étage est-il largement éclairé de façon à donner entière satisfaction aux services qui y sont aménagés : la grande cuisine, le garde-manger, la vaissellerie (lieu où est entreposé le gibier), le mûrier, la salle de chasse et des armes, la salle de bains et la salle de culture physique, l'atelier et le laboratoire de photographie, la salle à manger du personnel, les chaudières à charbon.

 

     On y trouve aussi des moteurs à pétrole pour l'alimentation des réservoirs d'eau. Ce qui permet d'avoir l'eau chaude aux étages, toutes les chambres étant équipées de cabinet de toilettes et de WC. Deux escaliers de service (un à chaque extrémité) ainsi qu'un monte-charge mettent le sous-sol en communication avec les étages supérieurs.

 

     Tous les étages sont aménagés d'un service incendie et d'un service d'eau potable qui fonctionne grâce à un bélier hydraulique. Un tout-à-l'égout était installé grâce à une ceinture d'égouts recevant les eaux usées de toutes natures, les transportant dans des chambres de décantation avant d'aller se perdre dans les bois environnants.

 

     Pour protéger du froid les nombreux orangers qui entouraient le château, on éleva une « orangerie », bâtiment tout en longueur et percé de larges baies vitrées. Les orangers, mais aussi toutes les autres plantes fragiles, lauriers, roses, palmiers ou citronniers y passaient l'hiver. Leur déplacement se faisait sur des rails que l'on installait pour la circonstance, dans des wagonnets que poussaient 8 hommes.

 

Et maintenant ......

     

Ce château de style Renaissance, inauguré en 1900, fut pendant la première moitié du XXème siècle, un haut lieu de la vie chaourçoise où les Chandon laissaient couler à flot le champagne.... Moët et Chandon.

     

    Début 1957, le Comte Frédéric CHANDON DE BRIAILLES, propriétaire des lieux, consent à louer le domaine à l'Association Sportive et d'Etudes Agricoles de la Cordelière nouvellement crée qui transforme, par étapes, le parc en un terrain de golf, reconnu aujourd'hui comme l'un des plus beaux de France. La propriété est vendue à un industriel belge avant que les membres de l'association, par le biais de sa Section Immobilière créée en octobre 1963, ne rachètent la propriété.

 

 Le château maintenant, au rez-de-chaussée, un secrétariat, une salle de jeu et de télévision, un bar, un salon, un restaurant et surtout la salle de billard qui a traversé le XXème siècle sans rien céder à la modernité. Ses murs tendus de satin rose et ses lourdes tentures de velours pourpre renvoient l'image d'une époque de faste et de félicité. Dans les étages, à la Petite Cordelière et dans les communs, des chambres ont été aménagées pour héberger les joueurs.

 

     Ainsi, de ce prestigieux domaine, seule la chapelle où reposent leurs ancêtres a été conservée par les héritiers Chandon de Briailles.

LES SOURCES :

« La famille Chandon de Briailles et le domaine de la Cordelière à Chaource » de Roger Barat (publié en 1998)  - Article paru dans l'Aube Nouvelle (été 2000)

Condensé établi par Michel Colin, Annie-Claude Lauvergeat et Laetitia Mialet.

Une partie des documents photographiques d'époque ont été gracieusement mis à disposition par Roger Barat. Les documents photographiques modernes et les autres documents photographiques d'époque ont été gracieusement mis à notre disposition par Madame Béatrice Mialet et Monsieur Michel Colin.

CORDELIERE CHATEAU AILE D CPO M.jpg
CHATEAU CP SALON.jpg

 Naissance du Golf de Troyes - La Cordelière

 

Le golf (Golf de Reims, section Aube) fait son apparition dans le département de l'Aube dans les années 1954 avec les familles CAUZARD et BOULENGER, suite à une initiation au golf pratiquée à LA BAULE.

    Très motivés, ils décident de faire partager cette passion naissante à quelques amis troyens. Ils s'équipent, demi sac pour quatre et aménagement d'un practice sur le terrain d'aviation de Barberey.

     Le groupe de passionnés victimes du virus « golf » s'agrandit et tous les week-ends, c'est un convoi de 8 à 10 voitures qui prend le chemin du golf de Reims (à Gueux) pour assouvir cette passion ; cela durera 2 ans.

     Début 1957 M. André MAROT découvre le domaine de la Cordelière que le Comte Frédéric CHANDON DE BRIAILLES, propriétaire des lieux, consent à louer à l'Association Sportive et d'Etudes Agricoles de la Cordelière, nouvellement crée. Le terrain étant trouvé, et la réalisation d'un golf étant décidé (08/05/1957) il faut collecter le budget nécessaire auprès des membres fondateurs pour ensuite définir le futur tracé du parcours; cette tâche sera confiée à un architecte de golf M. Tom SIMSON (qui n'a d'ailleurs jamais vu le terrain) et au professeur de golf de Fontainebleau, M. Joseph HIRIGOYEN, qui possède de solides notions d'architecture.

    C'est avec un indiscutable talent qu'il réalisera le tracé que nous connaissons aujourd'hui. La construction des 9 premiers trous démarrera en août 1957 sous la direction énergique du Docteur Pierre TORRE bien secondé par un groupe de pionniers bénévoles.

     Fin 1957, un professeur est engagé, M. Pierre DELAVILLE de Nancy, le restaurant s'organise, le personnel de terrain est définitivement embauché, le matériel est emprunté ou loué aux clubs voisins. Tout est opérationnel et au printemps 1958 le premier calendrier sportif est imprimé, composé d'une quinzaine de compétitions, la première étant la Coupe Archibald qui se déroula le 20 avril 1958 (greens provisoires et bien imparfaits, surtout par temps pluvieux, rughs bien difficiles ... AG 12/1958)

      Le Golf de Troyes - La Cordelière est né regroupant environ 130 membres (fondateurs, membres actifs et membres d'honneur).

     Le premier Conseil d'Administration qui oeuvrera pour la création d'un grand parcours de golf est composé de douze membres, désignés lors de la première assemblée générale de l'association, tenue le 5 Novembre 1957, avec :

Président : Pierre TORRE
Vice-Présidents  : Maurice BELLOT & André MAROT
Secrétaire : Madame GUIET, avec pour adjoint, M. BLOUET
Trésorier : Pierre JONQUET, avec pour adjoint M. Jean LEMOINE

Directeur du terrain : M. MAHEE

Directeur du Club House : M. Jacques RENAUDINEAU, avec pour adjoint M. Michel LEMELAND

Directeur sportif : M. Pierre BOULENGER, avec pour adjoint M. Charles BOHEME

Le bilan des années 1957 et 1958 est de 11.807.000 d'anciens francs pour les investissements et de 3.867.880 d'anciens francs pour l'entretien.

      En 1959, le parcours s'améliore et est complété par les greens définitifs, les départs, et des bunkers. Le temps va passer, et suivant le plan de travail conseillé par Joseph HIRIGOYEN, après avoir joué sur 9 trous, on jouera sur 12 pour finalement arriver à 18 trous en 1967

      En janvier 1961, au départ de M. DELAVILLE, un nouveau "pro" est engagé, M. Maurice BOTCAZOU, son épouse ayant la charge du bon fonctionnement du Club House (bar et restaurant).

    Aujourd'hui le Golf de Troyes - La Cordelière est un des plus beaux parcours de l'Est de la France. Les Présidents et les conseils d'administration de l'Association, qui se sont succédés, ont tous apporté une large contribution à l'évolution et à l'amélioration du terrain, des infrastructures et des équipements, le domaine étant exploité et géré sur la base de baux à long terme.
       
        Après Pierre TORRE, les différents Président de l'Association du Golf furent : Claude JALABERT pendant 17 ans, Michel DION pendant 20 ans, Jean LAUVERGEAT, Albert FELIX-BOUY, Laurent GESP, Joël DARZAC, et actuellement Gilles ALLAIN.

      Le 08/10/1963 la Section Immobilière de l'Association Sportive et Agricole de la Cordelière (SIDASAC), Société Civile Immobilière, au capital de 285.000 est constituée avec 57 parts réparties entre 39 membres, pour faire l'acquisition du domaine le 11/10/1963, au prix de 250.000 frs.  

M. Paul BERNARDEAU a été le premier Président du conseil d'administration.moderne.